Sunday, August 16, 2009

11 Birthdays

Author Wendy Mass writes funny books. Some of my favorites include Leap Day and Jeremy Fink and the Meaning of Life. 11 birthdays is her newest book.

11 Birthdays has two main characters - Amanda and Leo. It seems like they have been the best of friends since the day - the same day - that they were born in the hospital. Every year for the past ten years they have celebrated their birthday together. Last year something went wrong when Amanda overheard something hurtful Leo said about her. So this year for the first time they are having separate parties. And Amanda is not happy.

But then something very strange happens - Amanda keeps waking up and reliving this terrible eleventh birthday. Amanda tries changing the events of the day but nothing works! Every morning she keeps waking up and the same day starts over again. Anhd what about Leo? Is the same thing happening to him?

Wendy Mass really likes to meet other authors and get her picture taken with them. If you click on the title above, you can view her huge collection of author photos. This is fun if you've always wondered what some of your favorite authors look like. You might be surprised!

Monday, August 10, 2009


Flying machines! Sword fighting! Villains! Poison! Diamonds! Princesses! Castles! Prisons! Airman by Eoin Colfer has all this and more.

Eoin (pronounced Owen) Colfer is the author of the Artemis Fowl books. This book is equally exciting and full of action. Written in the style of Jules Verne, this steampunk science fiction story is perfect for fans of 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, The Count of Monte Cristo, or The Princess Bride.

Conor Broekhart is the hero of this story. His life has been full of legendary adventures from being born in a balloon during a terrorist attack to saving the princess from a burning tower. He dreams of becoming a brilliant scientist and a daring aeronaut. Suddenly his good fortune disappears when he is imprisoned by the evil Marshall Bonvilain. Conor rises to the challenge, building an incredible flying machine in hopes of escape.

To read the first chapter for free online, click on the title Airman. I guarantee that this is a page turner you won't want to put down!

To watch a video book trailer click on this link, click here

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

Jake Ransom and the Skull King's Shadow

Twelve-year-old Jake Ransom's parents were archaeologists who disappeared on an expedition to find a new Mayan temple. Jake and his older sister Kady were left in the care of their kindly guardians, but they missed their parents terribly. The last gift their parents sent home to them were two halves of a gold coin, each with a mysterious symbol on it. Jake and Kady wore them every day, including the day they traveled to the British Museum for the grand opening of a collection of Mayan items collected by their parents. That evening there was an attack on the museum that threw Jake and Kady into danger and adventure beyond their imagining.

Jake Ransom and the Skull King's Shadow is the first book in an exciting new series. Although this book had a good satisfying ending, it also left me wondering where Jake would find adventure next and how Jake would continue to put the clues together about his parents' disappearance. If you are a fan of movies like The Mummy or Indiana Jones - this is the book for you!

The author, James Rollins, has written several adventure thrillers for adults. Just like his adult books, this one involves scientific curiosities and ancient civilizations. If you click on the title above, you can visit the author's website and watch short video clips about how he created the character of Jake Ransom, as well as some clues about Jake's next adventure.